Friday, September 14, 2007

Family Login Problems

There are a few problems that come up with families that cannot access their accounts. It is worth understanding these, as there are some simple ways to avoid many of them.
First off, YV uses the email address as the unique identifier for a family account. Names are not unique, and email works well, as it provides a secure way to validate an account. 
Here are a couple of possible problems:
  1. Family tries to create an account but gets an error because the email is "in use". This is usually when you have already entered them as an admin. If you gave them a password, they can retrieve it with the forgotten password link (note that it takes a little while, and spam filters sometimes interfere, so if they are on the phone, you may want to go to their account and just give them a new temporary password.) 
  2. If you did not give them a password (but did enter their email), they will be asked to contact you when they try to enroll, and you will need to give them one. The best policy is just to give a random password whenever you put an email in for a family.
  3. Neither you nor the family can enter their email because it is "in use".  First, double check your families list. Maybe the other parent created an account under a different name etc. The definitive way to check is to use the "advanced search" link on the families list page and search for the email. If the email is not being used in your system, the family may have signed up with another educator who uses YourVirtuoso. We are going to remove this restriction so that a family can have multiple accounts with different educators, but for now there are two solutions: 1) Have the family use a different email address, or 2) If you know the other educator, and they no longer serve that family, ask them to archive the family.
A final note. These login issues sometimes result in duplicate families. There is an easy way, and a correct way, to handle this (as always). The easy way is to ensure the old account has $0 balance and archive it. This is fine moving forward, but you lose access to the family class history.
The right way is to recreate the duplicate family enrollment(s) under the old family; remove the duplicate family enrollment(s); make an adjustment to the duplicate family to get it to $0 balance and archive it; make the opposite adjustment to the old family and apply any credit to scheduled payments. This should take care of it. You may want to ask them which email address they prefer to use, and advise them what you have done of course, so they can log in to the old account which will now have all their history intact (except payment details which will by covered by the adjustment you made)

Friday, August 31, 2007

My Bio has too many characters

The bio in YourVirtuoso is displayed in a pop-up window for your customers, and really needs to be fairly brief to look good. There is unlimited space to put an extended bio on the "Our Studio" page which you can edit using Content/Inline Editor and then navigating to the "About Kindermusik" page and the "Our Studio" page.

Tuesday, August 28, 2007

Why aren’t my classes showing up on the website?

This is common mistake. All you have to do is make sure that your sessions and classes are activated. After you enter in all your class info, it will take you back to the main page, and the link beside your class reads “initiated”. Click on that link to activate your class. The same applies to Sessions.
(TIP: If you want classes that you can enroll students in, but which will not appear on your website, you can put them in a special session and activate the class but not the session)

Where do I go to find prospective customers?

Under “Marketing”, click on the “prospective customers” link and you will be able to view all your prospects.

Where do I go to see my deposits and payments?

If you go to “setup”, “my info”, then click on “my deposits and payments” and click on the “details” link you will be able to view your status of deposits and payments.

How do I know when someone registers?

You will receive an email when someone registers if you have that feature turned on. You do have a choice to turn it on or off under “notifications” in “my info”.

Friday, August 24, 2007

It would be nice to have a registration document AND normal online registration for the same class...

This is not really possible. However, if you want to get adventurous, there is a work-around, but not for the faint of heart!...
Set up a class with the registration document you want. Before leaving the page where you set the registration option, right click (Mac ctrl click) on the link to it that appears below the text box and "Copy link" or "Copy Shortcut". Then pick the registration with message option and put your message text in along with the following html reference to the document

....... <a target="_blank" href="paste the link you copied here"> registration document </a> .......

If the pasted link shows as https://, change it to http:// (no s). The words "registration document" will become a link that opens up the document you set up earlier. HTML is very picky, so be sure to test it out after you have saved the class info. Good Luck!
Gerry